Regulations of Connecticut State Agencies

TITLE 22a. Environmental Protection

Agency

Department of Environmental Protection

Subject

Permit Fees for Hazardous Materials Management

Section

§ 22a-454-1

CONTENTS

Sec. 22a-454-1. Hazardous materials management permit fees

Department of Environmental Protection

§22a-454-1

Permit Fees for Hazardous Materials Management

Sec. 22a-454-1. Hazardous materials management permit fees

- (a) **Method and timing of payment.** An applicant or permittee shall submit all fees required by this section by certified check or money order payable to the Department of Environmental Protection. Any fee required by this section shall be due upon the submission of the application or request to which it relates. Any application or request shall not be deemed complete and will not be reviewed until all fees required by this section have been paid in full.
- (b) **Application Fee.** The fee for submitting an application or for revoking and reissuing, or renewing a permit required by section 22a-454 of the Connecticut General Statutes shall be as follows:
- (1) For a transporter permit, five hundred dollars (\$500.00) per year for each year or portion thereof that the permit authorizes the transportation of hazardous waste;
- (2) For a contractor's permit, five hundred dollars (\$500.00) per year for each year or portion thereof that the permit authorizes a person to act as a contractor;
- (3) For storage of hazardous waste or for transferring hazardous waste from one vehicle to another or from one mode of transportation to another, fourteen thousand dollars (\$14,000) if the storage or transfer activity meets any of the following criteria:
- (i) the waste has a signal rating of 3 or 4 under any of the listed categories (i.e., health hazard, flammability or reactivity) of the National Fire Protection Association (NFPA) 704 Standard System for the Identification of the Fire Hazards of Materials;
- (ii) 1,000 gallons, or an equivalent weight or volume, or more of hazardous waste is stored at any one time;
- (iii) there is a 2,000 gallons or more throughput of hazardous waste in any 24 hour period; or
 - (iv) more than three different types of hazardous waste will be stored.
- (4) For storage of hazardous waste or for transferring hazardous waste from one vehicle to another or from one mode of transportation to another, seven thousand dollars (\$7,000) if the storage or transfer does not meet any of the criteria specified in subdivision (3) of this subsection and includes the transfer of hazardous waste from the original container to another container; and
- (5) For storage of hazardous waste or for transferring hazardous waste from one vehicle to another or from one mode of transportation to another, two thousand, five-hundred dollars (\$2,500) if the storage or transfer does not meet any of the criteria specified in subdivision (3) of this subsection and the hazardous waste remains in its original container.
- (c) **Modification fee**. The fee for applying for the following modifications to a permit issued under section 22a-454 of the Connecticut General Statutes shall be as follows:
- (1) For a change in the type of hazardous waste to be transported under a transporter permit one hundred dollars (\$100.00);
- (2) For modification to a permit, other than a transporter permit, of a type listed as a class I permit modification that does not require the approval of the commissioner two

Regulations of Connecticut State Agencies

TITLE 22a. Environmental Protection

§22a-454-1

Department of Environmental Protection

hundred and fifty dollars (\$250.00); and

(3) For modification to a permit, other than a transporter permit, of a type listed as a class I permit modification that requires the approval of the commissioner – five hundred dollars (\$500.00).

For purposes of this subsection, "Class I" shall mean permit modifications designated as class I in Appendix I to 40 CFR 270.42.

- (d) **Transfer Fee**. The fee to transfer any permit issued pursuant to section 22a-454 of the Connecticut General Statutes shall be the fee prescribed by section 22a-60 of the Connecticut General Statutes.
- (e) **Waiver**. All fees required by this section may be waived for agencies, boards, commissions, councils and departments of the state of Connecticut as provided in section 22a-6f of the Connecticut General Statutes.
- (f) **Municipal permittee.** All fees charged to a municipality pursuant to this section shall be fifty percent of the fee charged to other applicants.
- (g) **Relationship to statutory fees.** Other than the fees specified in this section, nothing in this section shall affect the fees specified in the Connecticut General Statutes.
- (h) **Multiple Fees.** Any person required to pay more than one fee (i.e., for multiple permits or multiple applications or requests requiring payment of a fee) shall pay the fee calculated by adding each fee associated with each application request or permit requiring payment of a fee. In calculating the total fee, each permit application or request requiring payment of a fee shall be added separately, even if an applicant or requester files one application seeking multiple permits or one request containing multiple requests.

(Effective November 23, 1988; Amended October 31, 2001)